The Republic of Congo is located along the equator in Central Africa. It is bordered in the north by Cameroon and the Central African Republic; in the west by Gabon; in the East by the Democratic Republic of Congo and by Angola in the southwest.

The size of the Republic of Congo is nearly three times that of the state Pennsylvania with an area of 342,000 Km2. Brazzaville, the capital city, is located on the banks of the Congo River and faces the capital of the neighboring Democratic Republic of Congo, Kinshasa. Brazzaville and Kinshasa are the two closest capitals in the world after Rome and the Vatican.

As a country located along the Equator, the average daily temperature is 24 °C (75 °F) and the climate is generally humid. The nightly temperatures vary between 16 °C (61 °F) and 21 °C (70 °F). The dry season usually lasts from June to September. The rainy season begins in October and ends in May with a short dry season in January-February.

The heavily forested regions of the Republic of Congo provide a habitat for gorillas and other species. According to a 2006-2007 Wildlife conservation society report, the Republic of Congo has a population of 125,000 Western Lowland Gorillas.

Congo’s landscape is a variation of coastal plains, mountainous regions, plateaus and fertile valleys. About 70 % of the country's area is covered by rain forest. The highest point mountain is Mont Nabemba located in the Sangha Department. It has an elevation of 1,020m ( 3,346 ft). Iron ore deposits can be found around Mont Nabemba.

In order to preserve its environmental safety, the Republic of Congo has adopted a set of national policies and signed international agreements on Biodiversity, Climate Change, Desertification, Endangered Species, Ozone Layer Protection, Tropical Timber 83, Tropical Timber 94, and Wetlands.


The Republic of Congo is divided into twelve departments:


Bouenza Madingou
Brazzaville Brazzaville
Cuvette Owando
Cuvette-Ouest Ewo
Kouilou Loango
Lékoumou Sibiti
Likouala Impfondo
Niari Loubomo
Plateaux Djambala
Pointe-Noire Pointe-Noire
Pool Kinkala
Sangha Ouésso

These regions are subdivided into 86 districts and 7 communes.



Visit congo

Mailing List

Contact Us

Embassy of the
Republic of Congo
1720 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20009, USA
  • (202) 726-5500 (202) 986-5740 (202) 986-5751
  • (202) 726-1860

mon-thu:9:00am - 4:00Pm

Fridays:9:00am - 3:00Pm