• The Republic of Congo has had a multiparty political system since the early 1990's.
  • The United States of America has supported Congolese democratization efforts, by contributing aid to the country's electoral process.
  • The voting age in the Republic of Congo is 18 years.
  • The Republic of Congo is a Presidential Republic whereby the President acts as both Head of State and Head of the Government.
  • The new constitution (adopted by referendum in 2002), established a seven year presidential term and a bicameral national parliament.
  • President Denis SASSOU N'GUESSO, was democratically elected in 2009 for a seven year term.
  • In October 2015, a referendum was organized and a new constitution was adopted.
  • President Denis SASSOU N'GUESSO was democratically elected in March 2016 for a five year term.


The Republic of Congo’s new constitution was adopted on January 20th, 2002 in a nationwide referendum. The government is made of 3 branches, which include:

  • The Executive branch headed by the President, who is the Chief of State (Le Chef de l’Etat), Head of the Government and Commander-in-chief;
  • The Legislative branch is bicameral. It is made up of a Senate and a National Assembly. The main task of both bodies is to make laws and recommend new laws. The House of Senate consists of 72 seats whereby members are elected by indirect vote and for a 5 year term. In contrast, the National Assembly is made up of 137 seats whereby members are elected by popular vote for a 5 year term;
  • The Judiciary branch is headed by the Supreme Court. It is chaired by the President of the Supreme Court, who leads the judicial branch. It is the highest court in civil, commercial, social or criminal and administrative cases in the country. It has the ability to quash the judgments of inferior courts, if those courts misapplied law.

Visit congo

Mailing List

Contact Us

Embassy of the
Republic of Congo
1720 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20009, USA
  • (202) 726-5500 (202) 986-5740 (202) 986-5751
  • (202) 726-1860

mon-thu:9:00am - 4:00Pm

Fridays:9:00am - 3:00Pm